FCPS Meal Pick-up
With the closure of schools for the remainder of the 2019-2020 school year, FCPS is still providing their meal pick-up service on Mondays and Wednesdays, between 11 am and 12:30 pm. For those 18 years or younger, meals can be picked up for Hamburg area families at Bryan Station High School and Deep Springs Elementary. The bags of food will consist of breakfast and lunch.

Last day of school
Kentucky students will not be returning to school for the remainder of the 2019-2020 academic school year. They will continue with their Non-Traditional Instruction (NTI) Program at home. The last instructional day is May 27, 2020, with May 19, 2020 (originally scheduled as Primary Election Day) serving as an instructional day.

National Merit Scholarships
Four students from Fayette County Public Schools, including two students from Henry Clay High School, are recipients of the 2020 National Merit Scholarships. Natalie Hayslip plans to enter the field of oncology while Briana Thompson plans to study psychology. They will each receive a stipend ranging from $1,000 to $10,000 that is renewable for up to four years of undergraduate studies.

familyPreschool Applications
Application process for the 2020-2021 year for the Fayette County Preschool Program has been delayed, but families are encouraged to begin their online registration. Printable applications are available on May 4 and once the o ices reopen, staff will contact families regarding completion of paperwork.

Spring Sports
The KHSAA has canceled all spring sport seasons.

STEM Fair Winners
The in-person competition of the 2020 STEM Fair was canceled, however judges were able to select winners through digital submissions.
Original Art

  • 1st Place – Misfits by Deja Baker, Bryan Station High School
  • 2nd Place – Midnight Magic by Isabel Martinez, Bryan Station Middle School

Graphic Design

  • 3rd Place – Coming Summer 2020 by Lindsey Gammon, Bryan Station High School

Original Photo

  • 2nd Place – Trust by Hunter Baker, Eastside Technical Center
  • 3rd Place – Dominic’s Street by Kevyn Flores Montes, Bryan Station High School

Manipulated Photo

  • 2nd Place – This is Me by Grace Brown, Bryan Station High School
  • 3rd Place – Gemini by Kevy Flores Montes, Bryan Station High School

Mixed Media

  • 3rd Place – Overthinker by Kevyn Flores Montes, Bryan Station High School

Innovative Products

  • 1st Place – Platformer by Scottie Helton, Bryan Station High School

PSA Video

  • 1st Place – Choose Happiness by Hunter Baker, Eastside Technology Center (High School Division)
  • 2nd Place – Drowsy Driving by Noah Yoder, Henry Clay High School
  • 3rd Place – The Danger of Vaping by Kevondre Bledsoe, Eastside Technical Center (High School Division)

Video Winners

  • 1st Place – Diversity by Stations Studios, Bryan Station High School
  • 3rd Place – Pick Up Fails by Station Studios, Bryan Station High School

Two Schools Coming to the Neighborhood
Fayette County Public Schools recently purchased 47 acres of land on Polo Club Boulevard to construct a new middle and elementary school. Four schools have opened in the last four years and three are in the Hamburg area (Brenda Cowan Elementary in Fall of 2019, Frederick Douglass High School in Fall of 2017, and Garrett Morgan Elementary School in Fall of 2016).



This article also appears on page 14 of the May 2020 print edition of Hamburg Journal.

For more Lexington, KY, Hamburg area news, subscribe to the Hamburg Journal digital newsletter.