Lexington Family News and Updates – Winter 2021

Remembering Superintendent Caulk

Fayette County Superintendent Manny Caulk died on December 4. Caulk had led the FCPS district since August 2015. The Kentucky Association for School Administrators named him 2019 Superintendent of the Year. Dr. Marlene Helm is serving as Acting Superintendent.

Douglass senior picked as Lexington’s top student leader

Youth Salute’s 2020 Lexington Youth Leader of the Year is Bryson Berry of Frederick Douglass High School. He received a $500 scholarship and Star Award, plus an access pass for this fall’s National Council on Youth Leadership program.

First 5 Lex is back

FCPS launched First 5 Lex – Read, Talk, and Play from Cradle to Kindergarten – several years ago in partnership with early childhood professionals across Lexington to address concerns about school readiness. With the ongoing pandemic, First 5 Lex is back to support the city’s youngest learners through a series of themed videos and activities. January’s theme is Winter.

Neighborhood Teachers are National Finalists

SHAPE America (Society of Health and Physical Educators) national finalists hail from two of Hamburg’s neighborhood schools. The two honorees include Mary Jo Geddes of Tates Creek High School and Lydia Austin of Brenda Cowan Elementary. Both are finalists for the national award in their respective categories: the Southern District Health Teacher of the Year, Geddes; and the Southern District Dance Teacher of the Year, Austin. SHAPE America will announce the winners during this spring’s National Convention & Expo, a virtual event set for April 13-17.

Lydia Austin
Mary Jo Geddes
New administration building named after John Price

By unanimous vote, the school board agreed to name the new Fayette County Board of Education Building the John D. Price Administration Building in honor of the longtime board chair.

It’s Girl Scout Cookie season!

Kentucky Girl Scouts launched new innovative virtual tools to help optimize socially distant and contactless sales for the 2021 cookies season. Along with new selling tools comes a brand new cookie, the Toast Yay!™, which is exclusively offered by select councils and only available locally from Kentucky Girl Scouts.

YMCA resumes Black Achievers Program

The YMCA of Central Kentucky resumes its Black Achievers Virtual Program on January 9. Registration is now open for virtual sessions of this college and career readiness program for students, grades 6-12.

Cross Country Coach of the Year

Liberty Elementary’s Lindsey Roberts was selected by the Kentucky Track and Cross Country Coaches Association as Coach of the Year for the 4th Grade & Under boys and girls divisions.

Football Coach of the Year
Phillip Hawkins | Photo Courtesy FCPS

The Kentucky Football Coaches Association has selected Bryan Station High School’s Phillip Hawkins as Class 6A Coach of the Year for 2020. Hawkins, in his first year at Bryan Station, led the Defenders to a 10-2 record and a district championship – the program’s best season in more than 20 years.

Grassroots Running Club

Grassroots Running Club recognized the following runners who were named by the Kentucky Track & Cross Country Coaches Association to the Kentucky All State Cross Country team based on their performances at this year’s state meet: Canaan Thomas, Sophia Anderson, Kylie Blackburn, Laila Hudspeth, Tye Park, Sydney Roberts, Savannah Thomas, Caroline Warren, Kinslee Wesolowski, Joel Frese, Emma Clark, Maggie Henderson, Chrissy McDaniel, Marissa Thomas, Evie Wiles, Jesse Dick, Alex Fidowicz, Caleb Folsom, Kingston Hudspeth, Garrett Nichols, Tate Sweeney.


This article also appears on page 7 of the Winter 2021 print edition of Hamburg Journal.

For more Lexington, KY, Hamburg area news, subscribe to the Hamburg Journal digital newsletter.

To advertise in Hamburg Journal, call 859.268.0945