Mayor Linda Gorton announced the city will provide first-ever violence prevention grants to 16 public schools in Fayette County.

The $500 and $1,000 ONE Lexington grants will be given to the Family Resource and Youth Services Centers. Family support programs are offered through the centers to help children who are encountering barriers to educational success. The centers provide support in basic needs, school attendance, social skills, and crisis response. 

Ciera Bowman, Family Resource Youth Services Center coordinator at Henry Clay High School, said, “This opportunity will help us increase services and unique interventions to youth most impacted by the trauma of violence. With this grant, the centers will be able to continue and expand services for each community’s unique needs. Specifically, at Henry Clay, I’ll be collaborating with other high schools centers and community partners to host youth summits to educate, empower and listen to the concerns and perspectives of students in our communities. This donation represents more than just money. It represents the support our youth need within our community, within their schools, and wherever they can be reached.”

The 10 schools receiving $1,000 grants are Lexington Traditional Magnet School, Winburn Middle School, Bryan Station Middle School, Crawford Middle School, Tates Creek Middle School, Henry Clay High School, Paul Laurence Dunbar High School, Frederick Douglass High School, The Learning Center, and Martin Luther King Jr. Academy.

This article appears on pages 10-11 of the March 2023 issue of HJ. To subscribe, click here.